What's On

Anna in the Tropics By Nilo Cruz
A Winter Words Play Reading Directed by Melisa Pereyra
Monday, February 24th, 2020

"The play’s intricate but clear patterns are drawn with a pleasing fluidity, and Cruz’s dialogue is often entrancingly lovely" - Variety
Dates: Mon, February 24, 2020 Booking and More Information
London Wall By John Van Druten
A Winter Words Play Reading Directed by Leia Squillace
Monday, March 9th, 2020

“…feels like stumbling across a lost film classic by Howard Hawks: How did this fresh and fizzy thing fall into obscurity?” – The New York Times
Dates: Mon, March 9, 2020 Booking and More Information
Agamemnon By Aeschylus | Adapted by Simon Scardifield
A Winter Words Play Reading Directed by David Daniel
Monday, April 6th, 2020

“…a cracking version, featuring a brilliantly conceived three person Chorus who merge almost seamlessly into the narrative.” – Radio Review
Dates: Mon, April 6, 2020 Booking and More Information
Hubbard Avenue Diner Picnics Delicious meals, desserts and full picnic baskets to share. Order by the day before your performance, no later than 4 pm. Dates: Sat, June 6, 2020, Thu, June 11, 2020, Fri, June 12, 2020, Sat, June 13, 2020, Thu, June 18, 2020, Fri, June 19, 2020, Sat, June 20, 2020, Sun, June 21, 2020, Tue, June 23, 2020, Wed, June 24, 2020, Thu, June 25, 2020, Fri, June 26, 2020, Sat, June 27, 2020, Sun, June 28, 2020, Tue, June 30, 2020, Wed, July 1, 2020, Thu, July 2, 2020, Fri, July 3, 2020, Sat, July 4, 2020, Sun, July 5, 2020, Wed, July 8, 2020, Thu, July 9, 2020, Fri, July 10, 2020, Sat, July 11, 2020, Sun, July 12, 2020, Tue, July 14, 2020, Wed, July 15, 2020, Thu, July 16, 2020, Fri, July 17, 2020, Sat, July 18, 2020, Sun, July 19, 2020, Tue, July 21, 2020, Wed, July 22, 2020, Thu, July 23, 2020, Fri, July 24, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Thu, July 30, 2020, Fri, July 31, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Thu, August 6, 2020, Fri, August 7, 2020, Sat, August 8, 2020, Sun, August 9, 2020, Tue, August 11, 2020, Wed, August 12, 2020, Thu, August 13, 2020, Fri, August 14, 2020, Sat, August 15, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Tue, August 18, 2020, Wed, August 19, 2020, Thu, August 20, 2020, Fri, August 21, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Wed, August 26, 2020, Thu, August 27, 2020, Fri, August 28, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Sun, August 30, 2020, Thu, September 3, 2020, Fri, September 4, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Wed, September 9, 2020, Fri, September 11, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020, Wed, September 16, 2020, Thu, September 17, 2020, Fri, September 18, 2020, Sat, September 19, 2020, Sun, September 20, 2020, Thu, September 24, 2020, Fri, September 25, 2020, Sat, September 26, 2020, Sun, September 27, 2020, Thu, October 1, 2020, Fri, October 2, 2020, Sat, October 3, 2020, Sun, October 4, 2020 Booking and More Information
The River Bride By Marisela Treviño Orta
Helena's feelings about her sister Belmira's wedding to Duarte are complicated, much like her relationships with both Belmira and Duarte themselves. But Helena's thoughts are redirected when her father literally fishes a mysterious man out of the Amazonian river, sending everyone's plans into upheaval in this riveting fable about the complexities of love.
Dates: Sat, June 6, 2020, Thu, June 11, 2020, Sat, June 13, 2020, Sun, June 21, 2020, Tue, June 23, 2020, Fri, June 26, 2020, Sun, June 28, 2020, Thu, July 2, 2020, Wed, July 8, 2020, Sun, July 12, 2020, Tue, July 14, 2020, Thu, July 16, 2020, Sat, July 18, 2020, Wed, July 22, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Fri, August 14, 2020, Wed, August 19, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Fri, August 28, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020, Thu, September 17, 2020 Booking and More Information
Rough Crossing By Tom Stoppard
From and original play by Ferenc Molnár
Two established playwrights hoping to refresh their careers take their show on the road. Or, rather, on the high seas, along with their two established stars. The plan is to ride the wake of a brilliant young musician – who happens to be engaged to one of the aforementioned stars - who will compose their new musical. But when the writers and composer stumble across a tryst between the actors, they’ll need to pull out all the stops to keep their young phenom from going overboard. A clever and hilarious comedy, rife with Tom Stoppard’s legendary wit.
Dates: Sat, June 6, 2020, Thu, June 11, 2020, Sat, June 13, 2020, Sun, June 21, 2020, Tue, June 23, 2020, Fri, June 26, 2020, Thu, July 2, 2020, Sat, July 4, 2020, Wed, July 8, 2020, Sun, July 12, 2020, Tue, July 14, 2020, Thu, July 16, 2020, Sat, July 18, 2020, Wed, July 22, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Fri, August 14, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Fri, September 18, 2020 Booking and More Information
A Phoenix Too Frequent By Christopher Fry
Runs June 12 - September 27
Touchstone Theatre
Dates: Fri, June 12, 2020, Thu, June 18, 2020, Sat, June 20, 2020, Wed, June 24, 2020, Sun, June 28, 2020, Tue, June 30, 2020, Fri, July 3, 2020, Thu, July 9, 2020, Sat, July 11, 2020, Wed, July 15, 2020, Fri, July 17, 2020, Sun, July 19, 2020, Thu, July 23, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Tue, August 11, 2020, Wed, August 19, 2020, Fri, August 21, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sun, August 30, 2020, Fri, September 4, 2020, Wed, September 9, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020, Sat, September 19, 2020, Sun, September 20, 2020, Sun, September 27, 2020 Booking and More Information
Sense and Sensibility By Jane Austen
Adapted by Jessica Swale
When the well-off Henry Dashwood passes away, his estate, by law, goes to his eldest son, John, leaving Henry’s second wife and three daughters – young Margaret, tempestuous Marianne and reserved Elinor – with no home, and little income. Those are high stakes for women in the early 1800s, and the ladies are forced to rely on the kindness of the good-hearted (and gossipy) Middletons. Though times are hard, the sisters meet many new friends along the way, and soon Marianne and Elinor find that, while love is easy enough to fall into, it can be a hard emotion to negotiate when your family and future are on the line. A charming romance from Jane Austen.
Dates: Fri, June 12, 2020, Thu, June 18, 2020, Sat, June 20, 2020, Wed, June 24, 2020, Sun, June 28, 2020, Tue, June 30, 2020, Fri, July 3, 2020, Thu, July 9, 2020, Sat, July 11, 2020, Wed, July 15, 2020, Fri, July 17, 2020, Sun, July 19, 2020, Thu, July 23, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Tue, August 11, 2020, Wed, August 19, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sun, August 30, 2020, Fri, September 4, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020, Thu, September 17, 2020, Sat, September 19, 2020, Fri, September 25, 2020, Sun, September 27, 2020, Fri, October 2, 2020 Booking and More Information
Julius Caesar By William Shakespeare
Political power struggles become deadly in one of the great Shakespearean tragedies. When Cassius and Brutus see the populist support around Julius Caesar, they worry that the people will crown this much-loved politician King of Rome, thereby overthrowing the republic. As their plans to temper Caesar’s power grow ever darker, allegiances and loyalty are put to the test. Thrilling and heartbreaking, it’s been 14 seasons since we’ve seen its like on our Hill.
Dates: Fri, June 19, 2020, Thu, June 25, 2020, Sat, June 27, 2020, Wed, July 1, 2020, Sun, July 5, 2020, Fri, July 10, 2020, Sat, July 18, 2020, Tue, July 21, 2020, Fri, July 24, 2020, Thu, July 30, 2020, Sun, August 9, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sun, August 30, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020, Wed, September 16, 2020, Fri, September 18, 2020, Tue, September 22, 2020, Thu, September 24, 2020, Fri, September 25, 2020 Booking and More Information
Ride the Bus to APT Ride the bus to APT on select Sundays. The Bus departs from 333 W Main St, Madison, at 3:15 pm, and 2015 Parmenter St, Middleton, at 3:45 pm. Arrive at the theater with time for a picnic. Dates: Sun, June 28, 2020, Sun, July 12, 2020, Sun, August 9, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020 Booking and More Information
Fat Jacks Barbecue Leave your BBQ tongs and apron at home, and let the experts at Fat Jacks do the grilling for you on select Sundays. Dates: Sun, June 28, 2020, Sun, July 19, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020 Booking and More Information
Backstage Series Get a fascinating glimpse of why we do what we do, and how it gets done, with this series of conversations with APT staff and artisans. Check back in the coming weeks for details and speakers. Dates: Sun, July 12, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Sat, August 8, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020 Booking and More Information
Inside Out Tour A 2-hour walking tour of APT's grounds and facilities. The stair-free version is slightly less strenuous, still standing throughout and walking between buildings but with a ride up the Hill and skipping the stairs. Dates: Sat, July 18, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sat, August 1, 2020, Sat, August 22, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020 Booking and More Information
Play Talks APT’s signature discussion series is back with a new assortment of fascinating topics and speakers. Join us at John's Place in the picnic area and enjoy a deep dive into the plays with lively talks with experts, artists and staff. Each relates to one of this season's plays and lasts about an hour. Dates: Sat, July 18, 2020, Sat, July 25, 2020, Sun, August 9, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020 Booking and More Information
The Madwoman of Chaillot By Jean Giraudoux
Adapted by Maurice Valency
Paris has been overrun with corrupt executives looking to capitalize on the oil they believe is beneath the city; a belief that has no basis in reality. When the plan comes to the attention of the eccentric Countess Aurelia, she fights her way out of her routine, gathers her wits and a batty clan of townspeople and like-minded Madwomen. Together, they hatch a plan to save their beloved city by any means necessary. A funny and ruthless social satire.
Dates: Fri, July 31, 2020, Thu, August 6, 2020, Sat, August 8, 2020, Wed, August 12, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Thu, August 20, 2020, Fri, August 28, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020, Sun, September 20, 2020, Sat, September 26, 2020, Sat, October 3, 2020 Booking and More Information
Love's Labour's Lost By William Shakespeare
An early Shakespeare comedy returns to our stage for the first time in nearly two decades. The King of Navarre and his three companions, Berowne, Dumaine and Longaville, commit themselves to three years of hard study with no distractions. To firm up his resolve, the King declares that no woman will be allowed within a mile of the court. When a French Princess arrives with her attendants, Rosaline, Maria and Katherine, the men immediately regret their oath in this fun and satisfying summer Shakespeare.
Dates: Fri, August 7, 2020, Thu, August 13, 2020, Sat, August 15, 2020, Tue, August 18, 2020, Fri, August 21, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Thu, August 27, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Thu, September 3, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Fri, September 11, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020, Sat, September 19, 2020, Wed, September 23, 2020, Sat, September 26, 2020, Tue, September 29, 2020, Wed, September 30, 2020, Fri, October 2, 2020, Sun, October 4, 2020 Booking and More Information
The Brothers Size By Tarell Alvin McCraney
In the Louisiana bayou, Ogun Size is the hardworking and steady brother to the younger Oshoosi. Ogun worries constantly about his brother, who's fresh out of jail, restless and aimless. When Elegba, Oshoosi's old prison-mate arrives with a gift, their relationship is thrown out of balance. Influenced by the rich culture of the Yoruba people of West Africa, this contemporary tale begins in ritual and evolves into a tough and tender drama of what it means to brother and be brothered. Combining flights of poetry, music and dance, The Brothers Size explores the tenuousness of freedom and the need to belong.
Dates: Sat, August 8, 2020, Wed, August 12, 2020, Sat, August 15, 2020, Sun, August 16, 2020, Tue, August 18, 2020, Fri, August 21, 2020, Sun, August 23, 2020, Wed, August 26, 2020, Fri, August 28, 2020, Sat, August 29, 2020, Thu, September 3, 2020, Sat, September 5, 2020, Sun, September 6, 2020, Fri, September 11, 2020, Sat, September 12, 2020, Sun, September 13, 2020, Wed, September 16, 2020, Sat, September 19, 2020, Sun, September 20, 2020, Thu, September 24, 2020, Sat, September 26, 2020, Thu, October 1, 2020, Sat, October 3, 2020, Sun, October 4, 2020 Booking and More Information
Hot Chili Finale On closing night, the Spring Green General Store is coming to APT to help us say a bittersweet goodbye to another season with some of their famous vegetarian chili. Join us in this traditional farewell to summer. Dates: Sun, October 4, 2020 Booking and More Information
Stones in His Pockets By Marie Jones
Two down-on-their-luck men in a down-on-its-luck Irish town are given what they hope is a chance at the good life. Jake and Charlie have been cast as extras in a Hollywood movie – a shaft of light through the clouds of their dreary rural existence. Like most sets, this one is rife with drama on stage and off – some hilarious and some heartbreaking – as the American cast and crew try to immerse themselves in Jake and Charlie’s culture, and vice-versa. A two-hander with each actor playing multiple characters in this unique and enthralling tragicomedy.
Dates: Thu, October 22, 2020, Fri, October 23, 2020, Sat, October 24, 2020, Sun, October 25, 2020, Tue, October 27, 2020, Wed, October 28, 2020, Thu, October 29, 2020, Fri, October 30, 2020, Sat, October 31, 2020, Sun, November 1, 2020, Tue, November 3, 2020, Wed, November 4, 2020, Thu, November 5, 2020, Fri, November 6, 2020, Sat, November 7, 2020, Sun, November 8, 2020, Wed, November 11, 2020, Thu, November 12, 2020, Fri, November 13, 2020, Sat, November 14, 2020, Sun, November 15, 2020 Booking and More Information

box office powered by